2005 Honda Accord Review, Problems, Reliability, Value, Life Expectancy, MPG (2022)

Alex Showalter

Apr 15, 2022

The 2005 Accord lasts around 200,000 miles, but there are transmission and brake problems. At $3,847 - $6,914, it’s expensive and not worth buying with the number of issues.

2005 Honda Accord Review, Problems, Reliability, Value, Life Expectancy, MPG (1)

The Good

Cabin space is good, the suspension is smooth and the V6 engine is powerful.

The Bad

Braking distances are long, there’s a lot of road noise and the interior materials are cheap.

Is the 2005 Honda Accord a Good Used Car?

  • No, 2005 is a bad year. Owners complain about expensive timing belt replacements, uncomfortable seats, and air conditioning issues.
  • Reliability ratings are below average. We recommend buying an Accord from 20062007 which have fewer mechanical problems and are in the same price range.
  • Performance is poor from the base 4-cylinder, but the V6 is relatively fast.
  • The Accord is a safe car, earning 4 out of 5 stars in government crash tests.
  • Fuel economy is very good, at up to 26 MPG combined.

Positive Owner Reviews

Anna R

2005 Honda Accord information.

Ignition issues at times even after turned into dealership to fix. The battery dies every 2 1/2-3 years. Good gas mileage. Lots of room in the backseat. Truck space is large. Automatic windows. Comfortable seats. Dash is readable and accurate, same as gas gage.

Kate M

It has great gas mileage and is a reliable and safe car!

I like the size of the car. It runs really well and the gas mileage is good. I wish it was a little nicer. I bought the car used so there are some dents in it.

Hails R

That it is a manual transmission.

I like that my vehicle is a manual. I do not life automatic cars. My car is comfortable and stylish. I do not like that it costs $40 to fill the tank. I also do not like that it is a 2005, I wish it was a little newer.

Kathy G

This car is reliable and easy to maintain.

It is extremely reliable. We have had no major repairs required. The gas mileage is very good. The clear coat paint, however, is flaking off and looks terrible.

Mary D

I have had it many years and very little maintenance needed.

I like my vehicle because it gets good mileage. . It runs well.

Andrew z

It uses very little gas for the distance it travels compared to other cars.

It does not use much gas. There is plenty of room inside. Except for oil changes, I rarely have to take it to the auto shop.

Krystal M

My car is great on gas mileage.

My car is dependable. My car makes me feel safe. My car is pretty. My car a/c is great.

Laura H

It's dependable and easy to drive

I like a manual transmission. I like how easy it is to drive. I like it's dependability

Negative Owner Reviews

Isaiah H

The best feature of this vehicle is the gas

The car is a very reliable vehicle, great on gas, but it is just that comfortable. Overall I think it's a great car.

Alicia R

It's a '05 Honda Accord sports coupe. It's a really reliable car.

Well it's a good car, but it does have some bumper damage. It's 115,000. It is 2 door sport coupe. It's black, has heated seating, and AC works great.

Kiley A

The car will need maintenance at some point. The car is going to need something, i've had mine for 3 years now and i've spent over $700 fixing it.

The seats are comfortable, and it has a decent miles per gallon but the car itself has caused me so many issues since I have gotten it. The car barely starts.

Cynthia N

Bad. But amazing. 2005 Honda Accord.

This Honda is actually amazing. It has 350k miles and is still running perfectly. I do not like being close to the ground and I am not comfortable driving it. But it works perfect. This is a fast car, with a lot of power! The speakers are great, you can add in an auxiliary cord. And that is all you'll ever need.

Kathryn D

Don't like small cars. They are sucky

I like SUVs. We were tight on money so had to go smaller. Not big enough. Need more space. Have 5 people in family

Nick M

Power windows do not work; but it drives well.

Comfortable, but did need timing belt replaced after 100, 000 miles, which cost $800. Good, reliable car that gets good gas mileage. The seats are leather and they are very comfortable. The electric windows on the side and passenger window no longer work.

Jordan S

You'd never know it was 13 years old.

Older car so has many problems but that's to be expected. Have had to have it painted because the hood started to peel, the ac has been replaced, all the tires and brakes are new and the list goes on. As much as I do want a new car I do not have a payment so that part is nice. I'd rather have to pay a couple hundred dollars every once in awhile rather than every month. But it does get me from point A to B and that's the most important part. Bought the car from a police officer who barely drove it because the department gave her a car. Only had 40, 000 miles on it when we got it and is now up to 95, 000. Runs very well for being 13 years old I'd say!

Johnny D

Very reliable and very good for a family to have for children and not worry safety

I love the way it drives it handles well and I like the interior and the car overall is very nice I would definitely recommend it to any one

What Do Critics Say About the Accord?

  • Consumer Reports finds the Accord to be nimble and fun, with average owner satisfaction scores.
  • Edmunds gives the Accord a 4.7/5 liking the roomy interior, but the brakes are weak.
  • Kelley Blue Book users rate the Accord 4.7/5 and enjoy the reliable engine, but dislike the transmission.

What Common Problems Does the 2005 Honda Accord Have?

Problems with the Accord are fairly serious including transmission failures, brake vibrations, and peeling paint.

Transmission failures are the most common complaint, at around 95,000 miles. The torque converter in the transmission wears out over time, costing about $1,800 to replace. If there’s additional damage to the gears then a new transmission is about $3,800.

Excessive brake vibration is another issue showing up every 40,000 miles. The stock brake components wear out quickly, and a new set of rotors costs roughly $550.

A peeling clear coat happens on many Accords at around 115,000 miles. Repainting the affected areas is the only way to solve the problem, at $1,000 per panel.

There are 24 recalls, which is well above average, but the vast majority of them are for air bags and exterior lighting. The most serious mechanical recall is for the fuel pump relay, which can cause the vehicle to stall.

How Long Will the 2005 Honda Accord Last?

A well-maintained 2005 Honda Accord will last around 200,000 miles, about 100,000 miles shorter than a top competitor like the Toyota Camry. Repair Pal estimates regular annual maintenance costs to be affordable, at $308 per year.

Accords from 2005 will have over 100,000 miles, so buyers should be prepared to replace A/C evaporators for $600, CV joints costing $1,200 and the wheel speed sensor which costs around $200.

Alyssa G

For the most part. It had problems with the ac a couple of times but was fixed. The radio does not work. The steering wheel gets a bit stiff when cold outside.

(Video) How Long Can a Car Really Last

Alison H

It has been very reliable. The brakes seem to go fast, but then I was told I needed new wheel bearings and the brakes last longer now!

Christine H

Yes, it has been very reliable. It does have recalls now and then, but no major problems or repairs have ever been needed.

Travis V

It has proven very reliable. It is been in three accidents and due to retaining it is value, insurance has insisted on fixing it every time.

Marisa S

My Honda has not had any problems at all, it runs awesome and I never have to worry about anything going on long trips or taking my sisters kids on a trip. I would consider it an extremely reliable vehicle.

Michael T

Not that many. Needs a belt due to it squealing at certain times and probably needs some new tires though it has great traction.

Janessa H

It is very reliable. The maintenance required light has come on before but I got it checked out and was told it was nothing to worry about. It lets me know when the roads are dangerous.

Kimberly W

Very reliable! It drives smooth, gets good gas mileage. I just wish it had a little bit more room. Once again, only issues I have had is the recalls on my airbags.

How Much Is the 2005 Honda Accord Worth?

Blue book values range from $3,847 - $6,914, making the Accord about $1,000 more expensive than competitors including the VW Passat or Hyundai Sonata. When new, the price range was $16,295 to $28,950. Depreciation is average, losing 10% of its current value per year.

What are the Different Models of the Accord?

There are five models of the Accord available which are offered as coupe or sedan. Technology was last updated in 2005, with the next redesign coming for the 2008 model.

DX is the entry-level model with:

  • 15-Inch Steel Wheels
  • Cloth Seating
  • Manual Locks & Windows
  • 2-Speaker AM/FM/CD Stereo System

LX is a step up adding features including:

  • Premium Cloth Seating
  • Power Windows Locks And mirrors
  • 6-Speaker AM/FM/CD Stereo System
  • 4-Wheel Disc Brakes

EX is a mid level model and offers:

  • 16-Inch Alloy Wheels
  • Moonroof
  • 8-Way Power Driver’s Seat
  • Optional Navigation System With Voice Recognition

LX-V6 adds features including:

  • 17-Inch Alloy Wheels
  • Larger Engine
  • Vehicle Stability Control
  • Premium Cloth Seating

EX-V6 is the flagship model and has:

  • Premium 17-Inch Alloy Wheels
  • Leather Seating
  • Dual-Zone Climate Control
  • Heated Front Seats

DX Sedan

160 HP 29-30 MPG

View Details chevronRightAlternative

DX VP Sedan

160 HP 29-29 MPG

View Details chevronRightAlternative

LX Sedan

160 HP 29-30 MPG

View Details chevronRightAlternative

LX Coupe

160 HP 29-30 MPG

View Details chevronRightAlternative

LX SE Coupe

160 HP 29-30 MPG

View Details chevronRightAlternative

EX Sedan

160 HP 29-30 MPG

View Details chevronRightAlternative

EX Coupe

160 HP 29-30 MPG

View Details chevronRightAlternative

EX-L Sedan

160 HP 29-30 MPG

View Details chevronRightAlternative

What Engines Come In the Accord?

  • The base engine is a weak 2.4L 4-cylinder with 160 horsepower that gets up to 26 MPG combined.
  • An optional powerful 3.0L V6 is available making 240 horsepower which gets up to 22 MPG combined. Performance is good, taking only 7.3 seconds to go from 0-60 MPH.

What Colors Does the Accord Come In?

How Big Is the Accord?

The Accord is an average sized midsize car offered as a coupe or sedan and is similar in size to a Mazda6 or Nissan Altima. Passenger space is good in the back seats of the sedan, but legroom is limited in the coupe.

The trunk in the coupe is rather small, at only 11.2 cubic feet, but the sedan is average at 14 cubic feet of space.

2005 Honda Accord Review, Problems, Reliability, Value, Life Expectancy, MPG (2)

How Does the Accord Compare to the Competition?

The Toyota Camry is the closest competitor, costing about $200 more. Reliability ratings are better on the Camry, but the Accord is more sporty and engaging to drive. We recommend the Camry since they last much longer.

The Nissan Altima is another rival costing about $300 less. Driving dynamics and performance are better in the Altima, but the Accord has a higher quality interior. We recommend avoiding both sedans since they have mechanical issues for the 2005 model year.

Ranks #2 Midsize Cars by Owners

1

(Video) This Honda Accord Has a Serious Problem

2005 Toyota Camry

4.37

2

2005 Honda Accord

4.32

3

2005 Toyota Camry Solara

4.26

Do Owners Recommend the Honda Accord?

Alyssa G

Yes. It has lasted well for the whole family for years. It is stable and gets decent mileage. It was my first car.

Alison H

Yes. It gets good gas mileage (30 plus on highway) and it has been easy to maintain. Since it is a 05 it does not has high tech computer stuff so I can still do most of the repairs myself on it.

Christine H

Yes. I think it is a great vehicle. I have had zero problems with it. Very reliable and easy to zip around in.

Travis V

Yes. I have had very few problems with it. Outside of changing tires and brakes, I have no complaints.

Marisa S

Yes, I love my Honda accord... I plan to buy another newer one in a few months. It is by far the best car I have ever owned. It wasn't too expensive and it is exactly what I need. I love the way it looks and the gas mileage is great.

Michael T

Yes very reliable though it is old and needs some work. It has great heat and we keep on oil changes tires brakes and other safety issues.

Janessa H

Yes it drives nice and accelerated quickly and I haven't had many problems with it. All I have had to buy for it was new wheels and that was simply because the previous owner had used it a lot and the wheels were worn out.

Kimberly W

The only complaints I have is that since I have bought it, I 've gotten 2 recalls on it because of the air bags. Otherwise, I love it.

Owner Reviews

messageEdit Write a Review

Honda-Horseass on August 3, 2022

I dont know what everyone else is talking about

Bought a 2005 Accord EX-L for 5k , 220k some miles driven daily since purchased it’s my 3rd car best car ever I can rely on this on my worst days. And the gears shift right as I set them/also has a good ac, would highly Highly Reccomend something like this and My grand Pop has a Honda and has driven it everyday since the early 90s hasn’t had no major issues , Ever . I love Honda.

Robert on July 19, 2021

Owner

My Accord EX-L has just over 420,000 miles. Yes...believe. Original engine and transmission. The service managers at landmark Honda in Alexandria, VA are betting that I will reach 500,000. This3rd Honda. All have gotten over 360,000 miles. Bottom line highway miles and service ate two keys to my success. All 3 cars were in DC and Georgia. My current car with 420,000 miles has started to burn oil but I am ok with it as I don't drive it long distance anymore.

Shawn M on April 2, 2021

Have not owned it for long but the features are great.

I have yet to run into any issues with my car as I have only owned it for a couple months. So far it has many features that my previous car lacked so I am satisfied. The mileage is also good.

Kirk S on April 2, 2021

It's reliable, safe, and does a good job.

It's a rugged tank of a vehicle. It can take a beating and still keep going. It gets good mileage, has the space I need, and gets me where I need to go. It does not have a lot of modern standard features like an aux port or usb, but that's fine by me.

Natalie D on April 1, 2021

Slim design 4 door car sunroof, a nice radio system, features on steering wheel.

It has heated seating, it has a really good sound system, runs smoothly I like the fact that the seats are leather although I would prefer black not tan seating. I also really love my sunroof it's really nice. I do not have many complaints about my car although it is used it runs really well.

Johnny D on March 26, 2021

Very reliable and very good for a family to have for children and not worry safety

I love the way it drives it handles well and I like the interior and the car overall is very nice I would definitely recommend it to any one

Linda S on March 25, 2021

Auto internal temperature control; outside mirror heating up, reliable mechanic quality

Very reliable, no big repair except routine maintenance. And very comfortable enough driving though it is not luxurious.

Meg S on March 21, 2021

It has been a dependable vehicle. Unfortunately, the dealership does not tell the truth and I cannot take my vehicle into them for servicing.

The vehicle is fairly dependable. It required a new transmission because that model year had transmission problems.

Rebecca H on March 21, 2021

Fantastic brakes, very touchy until you get used to them.

It is comfortable for my family of five. Although it is older, our car runs very well mechanically. As long as I keep up with my oil and tired, I never have any problems with my car.

Summer T on March 20, 2021

The life of my pre owned Honda accord.

With regular scheduled oil changes being done on time I haven't had many issues with this car. I got it about 6 years ago from the first original owner. Since then I have replaced all 4 tires twice and have had to recharge the ac 3 times. As it has gotten older it seems I have to recharge the ac again this summer for the 4th time. I have has problems in the last 2 years with it wanting to start when it gets really cold here in the Midwest it sometimes gives me problems. I replaced the starter on it and that seemed to help. The car does good in the snow surprisingly and is very comfortable for long road trips if you are sitting up front of course. I packed almost everything I owned into this car and drive it from ca to ne. This car has saved my life more than once.

Shelley H on March 9, 2021

05 Honda Accord - excellent condition.

The Honda Accord v6 4 door sedan is an excellent reliable car. It gets between 21 - 29 miles per gallon. It is equipped with an automatic engine air conditioning front ands back window defrosters electric windows and side mirrors. It has an am/FM radio with a 6 slot CD holder. The interior is cloth and the color is grey as well as the exterior paint. The wheels are standard with bf Goodrich tires. It has very low mileage for betting a 13 year old car averaging less than 10k miles a year. There is no body damage and has never been wrecked.

(Video) Please DO NOT Buy a Honda (Unless It Has This Engine)

Morro L on March 1, 2021

Battery problems with ground cable

Really reliable cars some problems with the battery cables sometimes the ground cable comes loose and will not start

John mitchell on February 27, 2021

Reliability

My 2005 Honda Accord is undoubtedly the most reliable, trouble free car I've ever owned. I have 281000k and it runs and drives as good as the day I picked it up at the dealership in 2005. The only premature problems I had was with rear brake calipers and pads. I feel it is good for another 281000

Jacob F on February 26, 2021

Good, not great car. Will last forever

Never had any issues with this car, lasts very long, great gas mileage. Never had any significant damage. Only complaint is the v4 engine is pretty weak so acceleration is pretty slow. Plenty of room in trunk and back seat if needing to move anything as well

Danielle F on February 25, 2021

My car was made just for me.

I've had no problems with this car, only changed the tires once. Performance is excellent. I do get my maintenance checks when I'm suppose to. Reliability is wonderful. Gas will take about a week before refill. I only like that I can adjust my seats and they heat up,

Claire F on February 24, 2021

Its drive is very smooth and quiet as well as very luxurious.

It runs okay for its age. It can be loud and squeaky. It is a pretty sand gold color. It is getting older, but again, it runs well for being 13 years old. Nice car but hoping to upgrade soon.

Therese S on February 23, 2021

It no longer has back support in the driver's seat.

It runs well, gets me where i need to be. The mileage could be better.

Tierra R on February 22, 2021

My vehicle is nice in size and great on gas.

My transmission recently had to be replaced. My car does great on gas and does not take much to fill it. I has heated seats which I love. It has a sunroof. My car has a v6 engine which makes it fast. Its leather seats which makes for easy clean up. Its very spacious as well.

Emily P on February 21, 2021

Comfort and reliability combined.

This car is absolutely amazing! It gets you from A to B, has amazing gas mileage, looks great, runs beautifully, and is super comfortable. I really enjoy driving this car. The gas pedal and brake pedal are a little sensitive, though. Also I prefer when the gas tank is on the opposite side of the car. Other than that I see absolutely no issues with this car.

Michelle B on February 21, 2021

Very reliable starter car for anyone just learning

My Honda has lasted me for many years and has been a very reliable source of transportation. However with time it has quickly started to fall apart

latina k on February 20, 2021

Save me a lot of money on gas

Reliable and does not use up a lot of gas. Good enough for now

Jim M on February 19, 2021

Super reliable and dependable. Love this car.

Exceptional reliability and well made. I have over 374000 miles on it with minimum repairs. Maintenance is reasonably priced and easy for the dryer. Easy to drive, comfortable, large trunk, sturdy and dependable and economic to drive. Well worth the money.

Erick Z on February 17, 2021

It has horrible headlights that can barely illuminate anything.

I've had it for about 5 years, its losing its transmission and has lead to multiple problems from around the years and is rough around the edges,=.

Abraham G on February 11, 2021

A very nice car Honda Accord.

Works goods doesn't waste a lot gas runs smoothly can last long road trips in general it just a nice car.

Grant T on February 7, 2021

It is a very comfortable, smooth riding car for long and short trips.

I like that it is moderately fast. Gets decent gas mileage. I do not like it is look. I do not like the tires that are on it.

Jonathan P on February 6, 2021

2005 Honda Accord last for years and requires minimum maintenance.

I really love the 2005 Honda Accord that I have because of how smooth it drives and it has lasted me years without any problems except the occasional oil change and new tires. It's also a very sporty car if you want some speed!

Alexis E on February 5, 2021

The car is very loud and super uncomfortable.

I like how the car feels to drive. Electronic movement of the mirrors is a nice feature. Cannot think of anything I dislike about it.

Kim H on February 4, 2021

Gas mileage is great. I am able to drive a week before filling up.

I like the fact that it is a four door vehicle. It is good on gas and it gets me where I need to go. The radio plays most of the time but will cut off for no apparent reason. It will do this for a couple weeks and then go back to playing for three to four months before doing it all over again. The cover overhead has started coming down. But I guess for a car that is 13 years old, it is time for things such as that to happen. It does not have electric seats. It does have electric windows and door locks. Overall, the Honda has been a good car with no major problems.

Wanda L on February 2, 2021

A summer days drive with my Honda.

I love the body style. It is a pleasure to drive. It gets great gas mileage and handles well. The seats fit my body nicely and the entire car is comfortable. I feel safe in this vehicle and it is very reliable.

Carol M on January 31, 2021

Low mileage for 2005 vehicle.

My vehicle has had no problems. Just maintenance. It was my father’s vehicle and when I got it in 2016 it only had 44, 000 miles on it. He had it only 8 years. I have had oil changed and fluids changed. No other problems. The only negative thing I can say is the seats are too close to the ground. Difficult to get out of the car.

Tiaunna J on January 29, 2021

An interesting detail is that it's only had one owner

(Video) The CAR WIZARD shares the top HONDA's TO Buy & NOT to Buy!

It's an ugly car but it's reliable and grey inside and out. It has 4 doors. 4 seats and four wheels. It has messed up tires but it drives smooth.

Heather S on January 27, 2021

Reliable but annoyingly quiet.

My Honda Accord was inherited by my grandmother. I absolutely LOVE this car. It is a very basic Accord that has no luxuries. It is a greenish grey color on the outside and grey on the Interior. It does have dark tinted windows and I guess that would be a luxury of some kind. The motor has run smoothly for all these years. The only problems that this car has ever had is 1) the battery was always draining and 2) the radio does not work. After the continuous draining of the battery, we did discovered the radio was draining the battery because it would mysteriously come on throughout the day and night. It was then decided to have the electricity in the car checked and as expected there was a faulty fuse to the radio. All of the fuses got changed and we went ahead and got a new battery. When we got the car back, the radio worked for a whopping 3 days and so we decided to remove the radio fuse forever and since, we have had no problems. Everything about this car is still running well and like it's new. For.a 2005 this Honda Accord has been very reliable and someday when it does poop out, I will definitely look to another Honda.

Sandra L on January 18, 2021

It's dependable so it's a good car for those who don't want to spend a lot on maintenance.

I hate that the car seat isn't higher. I like the gas mileage. I like its practicality.

Esperanza W on January 15, 2021

It has a great sunroof that is tinted and slides both ways

A dependable 4dr sedan. It has satellite radio. I enjoy the 6 cyl.

Christopher S on January 14, 2021

That super duper car I got.

This is a good one for you and one for the team and I will be there at almost 8 o'clock and I am not sure if I can make it to the meeting tonight but I will be there at like Miami for the opportunity and I look forward to hearing from you soon and have a great day and I will continue to keep you in the loop as to what you are doing and if you do not like it you can call me at gas stations are called to see how much it would cost to get home and get some rest tonight.

Kaitlyn B on January 13, 2021

Sun roof. Heated seats. Automatic windows.

My vehicle rides good. I do not like the radio. The car has a big oil leak that needs to be plugged. Tires need to be replaced. I need a bigger vehicle to grow with my family's needs. There's only one spot to fit a car seat. My sunroof doesn't work anymore.

Erin F on January 11, 2021

Comfortable and reliable Honda sedan.

The Honda Accord is very fuel efficient and reliable, it is a comfortable car to drive on long trips and capable of carrying a large amount of cargo for a sedan. It has over 100, 000 miles and has encountered limited problems, including needing a replacement starter and a new window control box. It performs well in all weather conditions. The brakes are more sensitive than some other Honda vehicles, it has great pickup. The original radio lacked features but I have since replaced that radio and installed a new one with Bluetooth to sync phone calls and music.

Stefan F on January 7, 2021

It's very reliable and efficient

My car has never had a major problem and it gets good gas mileage

Howard S on January 6, 2021

It is very reliable. Other than general maintenance , I have had no major malfunctions.

Very reliable. No complaints. Have over two hundred and fifty thousand miles on it.

George B on January 5, 2021

Honda accord - great car for anyone.

Great car. Basic roars. Good pickup with the v6 engine. Will pass it along to my granddaughter when I retire. Would recommend the Honda accord to anyone. I gave nothing much else to say about my car. It is got over 100,000 thousand miles on it and I drive 66 miles a day for work and it runs like a champ. Go buy one.

Ric R on January 3, 2021

It's a Honda accord, very dependable cars good on gas very well built.

Very reliable car, has been very dependable, go on gas just love to drive

Jenna A on January 3, 2021

It is very reliable. I have had it for over 185,000 miles

It doesn't have Bluetooth or any way to listen to music besides CD. The air conditioning is not as strong as it used to be.

Frances L on January 2, 2021

Love my Honda and will purchase another when I decide to buy another car.

I love my Honda. I have had it for 15 years. I keep up with oil changes and maintenance. I have leather seats that are heated. Both driver and passenger. The outside is red in color and grey interior. I keep it inside the garage and that helps with the condition of the paint which is very good after 15 years.

Beth M on December 30, 2020

Honda talk: the car has a lot of miles and it keeps on going.

I have had no problems except just regular upkeep of car. My Honda has been a great reliable and I would always consider buying a Honda. The car drives good and handled the road well. The comfort of the car is outstanding with little road noise. The car is very good on gas mileage.

Lisa N on December 29, 2020

It has a powerful engine that lasts a long time and provides a smooth ride.

It drives smooth and has a powerful engine. I have had the vehicle since 2009 and have had very few problems with it. I love the sunroof but I dislike the air conditioning system. It has never gotten cool enough for me.

marta w on December 27, 2020

It can last forever and it is a work horse if I take good care of it.

The accord is a very dependable car. It also gets good gas mileage. It's an older model.

Linda g on December 14, 2020

I feel safe when driving it. My car handles the road and still looks almost new

I have had my Honda for 14 years and it is still going strong. I have kept up with maintenance and it is very reliable

Heather G on December 11, 2020

Hondas are strong and reliable cars, and hold up very well under pressure.

For being an older car it is very sturdy and reliable. Recently the alternator went out and I had it fixed, but nothing else was wrong with the car. It runs very smoothly and handled long, cross-country trips with ease. It is a very comfortable car that gives spacious room to every passenger.

Holly R on December 10, 2020

It will last up to 200,000 miles and will still run great! I will get another Honda Accord as my next car too.

My Honda Accord runs very well and is great on mileage. It is a reliable vehicle and has been running very well for the 5 years that I have had it. I expect it will last me for another few years.

Lisa S on December 10, 2020

Dependable and reliable car. Will run for a long time.

I have had very little issues with my car. I have all the bells and whistles. I love with but warmers

Brittany B on December 10, 2020

It is a good car there’s no major problems there’s really only one problem.

My car is a good car only problems I have with it now is the brakes keep going bad I once was in an accident in my car and they said that is what causes the brakes to go out because my car may need a break Caliber or something like that but other than that my car is fine.

Alex Showalter

Alex is an automotive enthusiast with over 15 years of experience in the used car market. He brings a wealth of knowledge to Vehicle History as our Staff Writer and has written hundreds of used car reviews helping buyers make informed purchasing decisions. He is a member of the Automotive Press Association, and keeps up-to-date on the latest changes in the industry. Over the years, he has driven hundreds of cars, working on many of them. His mechanical experience evolved from modifying off-road trucks as a teen to focusing on automotive electrical systems as he got older. He now specializes in reviewing used cars as an automotive journalist. Some of his favorite brands are Toyota and BMW. The Toyota Land Cruiser is one of his favorite vehicles of all time since they’re built to last forever and can go anywhere. One of his current cars is a Lexus LX570, built on the same platform as the 200-series Land Cruiser, but it’s a better value in the used market.

(Video) Honda Just Changed the Game

FAQs

How many miles can a 2005 Honda Accord last? ›

How Long Can a Honda Accord Last? A Honda Accord has the potential to last for 200,000 miles if it's cared for properly, even if it's an old Honda Accord like the models in our used inventory. Consumer Reports has claimed that Accord is one of the vehicles most likely to do so.

What problems do 2005 Honda Accords have? ›

What Common Problems Does the 2005 Honda Accord Have? Problems with the Accord are fairly serious including transmission failures, brake vibrations, and peeling paint. Transmission failures are the most common complaint, at around 95,000 miles.

What years did Honda Accord have transmission problems? ›

The models of the early 2000s mainly faced problems with the transmission and the manufacturers got into trouble for it too. As a result of the overflowing criticism, Honda had to extend the transmission warranty to 109k miles or 93 months for their 2000 to 2001 models.

What is the longest-lasting Honda Accord? ›

In fact, according to Consumer Reports, Hondas are one of the vehicles that last the longest. If they're maintained properly, popular models such as Honda Accords and Honda Civics can last between 200,000 to 300,000 miles. With usual car usage, this means that you can use these cars for 15 to 20 years.

Is it worth buying a used Honda Accord? ›

There are many things that people rave about with their used Honda Accords cars for sale, as well. This sedan is safe and reliable, so it will last a good long while and often not require a ton of maintenance and repairs. It holds value well, partially due to that durability and reliability.

What year is the most reliable Accord? ›

Consumer Reports ratings of Honda Accord model years

While the model earned no perfect scores for owner satisfaction, it did receive high marks for the 2001, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2007, and 2020 through 2022 model years. The year with the highest reliability and owner satisfaction was the 2020 Honda Accord.

Does the 2005 Honda Accord 4 cylinder have a timing chain or timing belt? ›

If your Honda Accord dates back to 1997-2002, it has a timing belt. If you have a 4-cylinder model from 2003-2007, you engine has a timing chain; if you have the V6 model from those years, it's a timing belt.

Are there any recalls on a 2005 Honda Accord? ›

Honda is voluntarily recalling about 1.5 million vehicles to update the software that controls the automatic transmission, the automaker said. The recall affects the 2005-10 Honda Accord, 2007-10 CR-V and 2005-08 Element with four-cylinder engines.

Which is better Honda Accord or Toyota Camry? ›

From the very beginning, the Honda Accord has several advantages over the rival Toyota Camry. In terms of power, the Accord has more torque than the Camry across both available engines. Those searching for a roomy interior should choose the Accord because it offers more passenger and cargo space than the Camry.

How do I know if my Honda transmission is bad? ›

5 Signs That Your Transmission is Bad
  1. Transmission Fluid Leaks.
  2. Burning Odor.
  3. Delayed Movement.
  4. Odd Sounds.
  5. Warning Lights.

What is high mileage for Honda Accord? ›

Since an Accord can be expected to run up to 300,000 miles or more, we can also expect roughly 22 years of service. Thus, anything close to 22 years or 300,000 miles can be considered a high mileage Accord.

Which model of Honda Accord has problems in transmission? ›

In 2011, Honda recalled 2005-2010 model year Honda Accords, equipped with the automatic transmission. Manufactured between July 1, 2004 and September 3, 2010, these cars had a faulty secondary shaft bearing that could fracture and cause all sorts of damage.

How long should a Honda Accord transmission last? ›

Manual transmissions might go 30,000 to 60,000 miles between changes, and automatics can reach 60,000 to 100,000. It all depends on make and model, of course.

How long do Honda transmissions last? ›

Some transmissions can last just over 10,000 miles, while others will last over 200,000 miles. Generally though, regular vehicle maintenance is the number one factor effecting a transmission's lifespan, and good upkeep can help it last even longer.

Do Hondas last longer than Toyotas? ›

The Toyota vehicles also consistently last longer than any Honda. According to statistics based on consumer reports, Toyota is the second most reliable automaker after Mazda, and Corolla is the most reliable model. Honda didn't even make it to the top 10 for average reliability.

Why Honda Accord is the best? ›

It's athletic and enjoyable to drive day to day, and its turbocharged engine lineup offers a nice balance of performance and fuel economy. This Honda also has a spacious trunk. Because of its outstanding combination of quality and value, we named the Accord our 2022 Best Midsize Car for the Money .

Which Honda gets best gas mileage? ›

The Civic Hatchback leads the ranking thanks to its impressive 40 mpg on the highway. Still, it's important to keep in mind this is only an estimation and that actual mileage may vary with driving conditions. *Based on 2020 EPA mileage ratings.

Are Accords more reliable than civics? ›

As for reliability, J.D. Power ranked the Civic a whopping 76 out of 100 and the Accord an impressive 82 out of 100. A rating of 70 to 80 is considered average, while 81 to 90 constitutes as great.

Is it worth buying a used Honda? ›

Honda and Toyota vehicles often score well in studies carried out by J.D. Power and Consumer Reports, suggesting they are highly reliable. This makes a Honda or Toyota model a good choice for a used car, since these models usually have a lot of life left in them, even if they've already covered 100,000 miles or more.

What is the best Honda Accord ever made? ›

Top three best Honda Accord years

Overall the best Honda Accord years are from 2006, 2007, 2011, 2012, 2013, and 2015. Consumer Reports and CarComplaints.com would have to agree. The safe 2011 Honda Accord offers drivers great handling and impressive crash test ratings.

Is accord better or Civic? ›

With an available hybrid powertrain, a more spacious interior, more powerful engines, and a larger trunk, the Honda Accord is the winner in this comparison over the Civic. It's not as new as the Civic or as high-tech, but for the majority of consumers, the extra space and performance are better trade-offs.

What is the best generation Honda Accord? ›

Many say that the third-generation Accord (1986-1989) is the best for Honda purists, but most buyers are looking for something a little newer. We think the tenth-generation Accord (2018-2021) is the best we've seen in a while, but an argument can be made for the seventh-gen (2003-2007) cars as well.

How much does it cost to replace a timing chain on a Honda Accord? ›

The average cost for Honda Accord Timing Chain Replacement is $827.

What happens when the timing belt breaks on a Honda Accord? ›

Your car cannot run with a broken timing belt. By the time the belt snaps, the damage is already done, and you will not be able to drive at all. You will need to have the vehicle towed to an auto repair workshop.

How much does it cost to replace a timing belt on a Honda Accord? ›

Belts themselves aren't that expensive. The real cost is in the labor, because a lot of parts need to be disassembled to get to the belt. Shopping around to get a few quotes is your best bet to get the best deal, but you can expect to pay anywhere from $409 to $919 (including parts and labor).

How much is a timing belt for a 2005 Honda Accord? ›

Belts themselves aren't that expensive. The real cost is in the labor, because a lot of parts need to be disassembled to get to the belt. Shopping around to get a few quotes is your best bet to get the best deal, but you can expect to pay anywhere from $409 to $919 (including parts and labor).

How much is a 2005 Honda Accord catalytic converter worth? ›

We currently carry 30 Catalytic Converter products to choose from for your 2005 Honda Accord, and our inventory prices range from as little as $222.99 up to $1,285.99. On top of low prices, Advance Auto Parts offers 3 different trusted brands of Catalytic Converter products for the 2005 Honda Accord.

Are Honda Accords expensive to repair? ›

A Honda Accord will cost about $5,412 for maintenance and repairs during its first 10 years of service. This beats the industry average for popular sedan models by $1,684. There is also a 15.57% chance that an Accord will require a major repair during that time.

Why Honda is no longer reliable? ›

According to Consumer Reports, Honda's reliability dropped because of its new and redesigned models. CR says, “The Odyssey minivan had much-worse-than-average reliability, with problems including the infotainment system, and door locking and unlocking.

What Honda engine is most reliable? ›

One of the highest-rated Honda VTEC engines is the B18C6. This is a 1.8L 4 cylinder engine that could be found in the 1999 through 2001 Honda Integra and Acura Integra Type R from around the world.

Are Hondas as good as Toyotas? ›

Are Toyotas reliable cars? When looking at the safety and reliability of the vehicles between each brand, Toyota and Honda vehicles all score relatively high. However, Toyota comes out ahead in reliability whereas Honda has better safety rating averages among their vehicles – including the used Honda SUVs.

Why Honda cars are better than Toyota? ›

Ultimately, it really is just about personal preference

But Honda has as well, and while both automakers have proven that they can both make reliable, fuel-efficient, and affordable products, it's easy to pick Honda over Toyota if you're looking for a more engaging drive and overall better performance.

Which is more reliable Sonata or Accord? ›

The average annual repair cost is $458 which means it has excellent ownership costs. The severity and frequency of repairs are lower than other vehicles, so the Sonata is one of the more reliable vehicles on the road. The Honda Accord Reliability Rating is 4.5 out of 5.0, which ranks it 1st out of 24 for midsize cars.

What are early signs of transmission failure? ›

What Are the Transmission Failure Symptoms?
  • Refusal to Switch Gears. If your vehicle refuses or struggles to change gears, you are more than likely facing a problem with your transmission system. ...
  • Burning Smell. ...
  • Noises When in Neutral. ...
  • Slipping Gears. ...
  • Dragging Clutch. ...
  • Leaking Fluid. ...
  • Check Engine Light. ...
  • Grinding or Shaking.
16 Mar 2017

What makes a transmission go bad? ›

Transmission failure can be caused by slipping, symptomatic noises, lack of fluid due to leaks, overheating, or outside factors that affect the transmission.

What are signs transmission going out? ›

Nine Signs Your Transmission Is Going Out
  • Won't Shift Gears. Another sign of a dying transmission is a refusal to shift gears. ...
  • The Gears Slip. The scenario we described in the introduction is the gears slipping. ...
  • Noise When Shifting. ...
  • Neutral Noises. ...
  • Shaking or Vibrating. ...
  • Burning Smells. ...
  • Fluid Leaks. ...
  • Pink Fluid.
1 Jan 2021

What is considered high mileage for a Honda Accord? ›

Since an Accord can be expected to run up to 300,000 miles or more, we can also expect roughly 22 years of service. Thus, anything close to 22 years or 300,000 miles can be considered a high mileage Accord.

Can a Honda go over 200000 miles? ›

When properly maintained, the Honda Accord, Civic, and CR-V have proven to last over 200,000 miles and beyond, according to Consumer Reports survey respondents who most often reach more than 200,000 miles. By following your maintenance schedule in your owner's manual, your Honda can make it to 200,000 miles and beyond.

Is 200000 a lot miles for a Honda? ›

Honda models, in general, are expected to last between 200,000 and 300,000 miles, which for the average driver translates to about 15-20 years of use, according to Car and Driver.

Can a car go 300 000 miles? ›

Can a car last 500,000 miles? It is extremely unusual for cars to last over 500,000 miles (804,672 kilometers). It's less unusual for cars to go over 300,000 miles (482,803 kilometers) without encountering major repairs though.

How long does a Honda Accord transmission last? ›

Manual transmissions might go 30,000 to 60,000 miles between changes, and automatics can reach 60,000 to 100,000. It all depends on make and model, of course. It's better you bring your car into the dealer for routine maintenance too soon than not soon enough.

Which cars are better Honda or Toyota? ›

With the categories we looked at, it turns out that Toyota is the superior brand, having more vehicles, better prices, and superior reliability. However, when it comes to choosing between Honda or Toyota, Honda is no slouch either, having similar reliability ratings, affordable prices, and even better safety ratings.

Why Honda engines are so reliable? ›

Our engines are built with high-quality components designed for optimum performance in the harshest environments. But don't just take our word for it. Honda stands behind our engines with an industry-leading three year commercial warranty on all GX engines, 100cc and larger.

Are high mileage Hondas reliable? ›

Regardless of the year model, it's one of the most dependable compact cars on the market. In many cases, Honda Civics are capable of going beyond the 200,000-mile mark, which translates to 14 to 16 years of use for the average American driver. It's not uncommon to find Civics that have traveled more than 300,000 miles.

How do I keep my Honda running forever? ›

Here are the four most important things to make your Honda run forever!
  1. Follow your recommended maintenance schedule.
  2. Regularly your check fluids and tire pressure.
  3. Don't ignore warning signs.
  4. Find a mechanic you can trust.
9 Aug 2021

Do Hondas last longer than Toyotas? ›

The Toyota vehicles also consistently last longer than any Honda. According to statistics based on consumer reports, Toyota is the second most reliable automaker after Mazda, and Corolla is the most reliable model. Honda didn't even make it to the top 10 for average reliability.

Can a car last 500000 miles? ›

THERE is no one secret to getting your car to live to a ripe old odometer reading. Luck could get you there, but it is no surprise that many vehicles that have reached 200,000, 400,000 and even 500,000 miles have received extraordinary care and maintenance, often with the owners doing the routine work themselves.

At what mileage do cars start having problems? ›

Generally, vehicles are likely to start experiencing problems after the 100,000-mile mark. Also, in most cases, they no longer have a valid manufacturer's warranty, meaning you have to pay for repairs out of your own pocket when something goes wrong.

How old of a car should I buy? ›

All in all, the best age to buy a used car is around the 5-year mark, as this minimizes depreciation and maximises reliability for the price you'll pay, meaning you're less likely to have any problems or need to pay any more money for later on which is a common problem with really cheap or much older vehicles.

What car breaks down the most? ›

Beyond the brands: The most and least reliable vehicles
RankMost ReliableLeast Reliable
1.Toyota PriusChevrolet Silverado/GMC Sierra 1500
2.Lexus NXSubaru Ascent
3.Buick EncoreVolkswagen Atlas
4.Lexus GXJeep Compass
6 more rows
22 Mar 2021

Which car engine lasts longest? ›

Ranked: the longest-living car engines
  • Rolls-Royce L-Series: 1959-2020 (61 years) ...
  • Rolls-Royce L-Series: 1959-2020 (61 years) ...
  • Chevrolet Small Block: 1955-present (64 years) ...
  • Chevrolet Small Block: 1955-present (64 years) ...
  • Volkswagen Type 1: 1938-2003 (65 years) ...
  • Volkswagen Type 1: 1938-2003 (65 years)
17 Sept 2021

What is the longest lasting car ever? ›

Longest-Lasting Cars: Toyota's Land Cruiser Easily Wins the Top Spot
Longest-Lasting Vehicles to Reach 200k Miles – iSeeCars Study
RankVehicle% of Cars Over 200k Miles
1Toyota Land Cruiser16.3%
2Toyota Sequoia11.2%
3Chevrolet Suburban5.1%
14 more rows
28 Feb 2022

Videos

1. The Honda Accord Euro might be the most UNDERRATED used sedan | ReDriven used car review
(ReDriven)
2. Should You Buy A Car With High Mileage
(Helpful DIY)
3. 2006 Honda Accord 510k mile overview
(Mr. Nate)
4. Can a Honda Civic Last 1,000,000 Miles, Let's Find Out
(Scotty Kilmer)
5. Never Buy a Honda With This Engine
(Scotty Kilmer)
6. 2005-2010 Honda Odyssey | Review and What to LOOK for if you're buying one
(Miguel's Garage)

Top Articles

You might also like

Latest Posts

Article information

Author: Lakeisha Bayer VM

Last Updated: 10/29/2022

Views: 6379

Rating: 4.9 / 5 (69 voted)

Reviews: 92% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Lakeisha Bayer VM

Birthday: 1997-10-17

Address: Suite 835 34136 Adrian Mountains, Floydton, UT 81036

Phone: +3571527672278

Job: Manufacturing Agent

Hobby: Skimboarding, Photography, Roller skating, Knife making, Paintball, Embroidery, Gunsmithing

Introduction: My name is Lakeisha Bayer VM, I am a brainy, kind, enchanting, healthy, lovely, clean, witty person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.