2013 Toyota Tacoma Review, Problems, Reliability, Value, Life Expectancy, MPG (2022)

Alex Showalter

Jan 22, 2022

The 2013 Toyota Tacoma is a compact pickup truck with a price range of $22,514 to $31,105. The Tacoma is more expensive than other trucks, but stands out as being one of the most dependable choices on the market and is easy to recommend to shoppers.

2013 Toyota Tacoma Review, Problems, Reliability, Value, Life Expectancy, MPG (1)

The Good

Outstanding reliability ratings with a long-lasting powertrain, lower ownership costs than other trucks, and higher-quality interior materials.

The Bad

There’s not enough room for adults to fit in the back seats, no advanced safety technology, and complex options packages make finding the features you want difficult.

2013 Toyota Tacoma: Quick Overview

  • New features for the 2013 model include the Limited package which adds SofTex artificial leather, and heated front seats.
  • Reliability ratings are excellent, according to J.D. Power, with a lower number of complaints than other trucks on the market.
  • Two engines are available, including an efficient four-cylinder and a more powerful V6.
  • Fuel economy is average and ties for 2nd place out of three compact trucks with a combined rating of up to 23 miles per gallon.
  • Safety ratings are good, getting a four-stars out of five in government crash tests.
  • The 2013 Tacoma ranks 2nd out of three trucks, based on owner reviews. Overall, the Tacoma is one of the best trucks with long-lasting engine choices, and good off-road performance.

Expert Ratings

KBB

3.8 /5

Positive Owner Reviews

Scott L

100% Reliable Toyota Tacoma

My Tacoma has been completely problem-free and 100% reliable since purchasing it brand new. All I've had to do is perform routine maintenance.

Heather B

Toyota is a very reliable vehicle.

My Toyota Tacoma is very reliable. I can take it anywhere and it always handles very well. It goes into 4 high and 4lo easily. I do wish the back seat were a little deeper to provide more legroom for passengers. It gets great gas mileage for a v6 and has great power.

Sarah S

The best truck you'll ever have!

I love my 2013 Toyota Tacoma! It is spacious, reliable, and great for adventuring. I wouldn't want any other truck. I recommend tacoma’s to anyone looking for a truck. You will not find a better vehicle than this. I have had mine for years now and no matter the mileage it will stay in amazing condition.

Murat S

Truck with SUV interior,!

Handles everything, inside ext cab feels like SUV, little rough on potholes as far as comfort. Can carry large loads. Love it

Andy N

Good pickup and tremendous speed

Tremendous pickup. Decent mileage. Good looks

Jeffrey C

It's very capable and can be utilized for most all situations

I love that it drives well for a truck. It's just the right size. It has great storage. The gas mileage is slightly lower than I would like however.

joe L

My tacoma is preferred by 10 out of 10 isis members.

I like that it's a 4 wheel drive truck but dislike the lack of a lockable tailgate and no way to use a key on the passenger side door lock.

d c

My Toyota Tacoma is a reliable and economical vehicle.

Does what I need it to do. Get good mileage. It is reliable

Negative Owner Reviews

Roger

Suspention

After 6 years I add to replace both lower ball joint that cost a lot plus my leaf springs i’m not impressed at all with my truck I’ll never going to buy another Tacoma that’s for sure

Jacqueline R

Always check out the gas mileage before buying!

The Toyota Tacoma's are dependable trucks. The one thing that is not too good about them though is the gas mileage. I thought I would have gotten better gas mileage than I am getting and my brake fluid leaks pretty bad even after changing my brakes and having the lines looked at. Other than those two things it is a pretty good truck.

Janet M

Smooth ride and easy to handle in tight areas.

It is easy to handle in tight areas and has a smooth ride even in the rear seats. The gas mileage is awesome.

Charmagne Q

Nice truck for the size -very easy to drive and useful.

It's a good truck for its size. It's good on gas, and easy to drive. I wish the seats could be adjusted more.

Milena A

This car is very economic with gas.

My car is very comfortable and economic in gas. I am not happy with it because it is small for my family. It drives very smooth. Never had any problems the even though I bought it used. What I like best about it is that we get a very good mileage for little gasoline.

Johanna E

My 2013 Toyota Tacoma 5 years later.

My truck is a little too big. It is hard to park. Although I have a very short commute it uses a lot of gas. I get about 12 miles per gallon. The most frustrating thing though is that the factory radio screen went out and stopped working. Also I have had to replace the air conditioning resistor plug 3 times. It only works on high.

(Video) Top 5 Problems Toyota Tacoma Truck 2nd Generation 2005-15

SUSANNA F

Dream truck without dream features.

4 cyl is slow to pick up on highway. I wish I would've gotten the 6 cyl instead. The cup holders are too small. The ones in the center console are larger, but always come out with whatever cup you put inside. I was used to keyless start and miss it. I heard the newer models have it. I also miss apple play.

Suz M

Its useful for hauling but not very practical for everyday use. The cab is very noisy. The back seat are cramped. We made a mistake buying it.

Very noisy cab while driving. Especially on the highway.

What Problems Does the 2013 Toyota Tacoma Have?

The 2013 Toyota Tacoma is a better choice than other trucks on the market with fewer mechanical problems. There are improvements on the 2013 version, and a lower number of owner complaints compared to the 2012 model. The 2013 Tacoma problems cover malfunctioning brakes, airbag failure, and electrical glitches.

Vibration, while accelerating, is the most common issue with the truck. Some owners report replacing the driveshaft helps reduce vibrations. There’s also a service bulletin to check the engine mounts, leaf springs, and install a steering wheel damper.

Suspension problems, including excessive noise, are also found on the truck. Usually, the noise is caused by loose or worn-out components. Checking the shocks and springs is the best way to determine the source of the noise.

Transmission shudder is also brought up by owners. Draining, flushing, and refilling with fluid can solve the problem usually, but if the issues persist there could be physical problems with the transmission.

There are six recalls, which is average for a truck from 2013. The recalls include load-carrying labels, spare wheel lug nuts, valve springs, brake actuator assembly, incorrect tire placards, and accessory hood scoops. Most serious is the brake actuator assembly since a failure increases the risk of an accident.

What are the Prices, Models & Specs?

The 2013 Tacoma is more expensive than other compact trucks, with a price range of $22,514 to $31,105, depending on the model and mileage. When new, the price range was $17,625 to $28,185. In current market conditions with limited availability, the 2013 Tacoma hasn’t depreciated for most models.

  • Base is the entry-level model and has 15-inch steel wheels, cloth seating, a limited-slip differential, power locks, a 6.1-inch infotainment screen, and a six-speaker stereo system.
  • PreRunner is next in the lineup and includes 16-inch alloy wheels, fender flares, improved suspension, locking rear differential, hill descent control, and a seven-speaker stereo system with EnTune app integration.
  • X-Runner focuses heavily on street performance with rear-wheel-drive, a lowered suspension, 18-inch wheels, the V6 engine standard, and exterior aerodynamic styling.
  • There are also many options packages available on all models which add features including four-wheel drive, different wheels, SofTex artificial leather, power seats, heated front seats, and body-colored trim.

PreRunner

159-236 HP 19-21 MPG

View Details chevronRightAlternative

X-Runner

236 HP 18 MPG

View Details chevronRightAlternative

Base

236 HP 18 MPG

View Details chevronRightAlternative

How Long Will the 2013 Toyota Tacoma Last?

The 2013 Toyota Tacoma is a very long-lasting truck, and with proper care will survive for over 300,000 miles, much longer than the competitors. Maintenance costs are more affordable than other trucks on the market. Repair Pal estimates them to be $509 per year.

Pakalana H

I have never had any issues with this vehicle. I use the 4x4 everyday to climb steep rocky hills. And I also use this truck to drive around for 8+ hours at a time every single weekend. With everything I put this truck through, you would think it gives me problems. However, it remains a reliable, hard working and great everyday vehicle.

What Technology & Safety Features are Included?

Technology in the 2013 Tacoma is excellent for a compact truck and feels very up-to-date for the time.

  • Base technology includes a 6.1-inch infotainment screen, Bluetooth and USB connectivity, as well as a six-speakers stereo system.
  • Upgrades include a navigation system, Toyota EnTune app connectivity, and an upgraded JBL stereo system.
  • For safety, there are standard airbags, antilock brakes, stability, and traction control, and hill-start assist on the 4WD models. A rearview camera is available as an optional upgrade.
2013 Toyota Tacoma Review, Problems, Reliability, Value, Life Expectancy, MPG (2)

What Engine Options are Available?

The 2013 Toyota Tacoma engine options include lethargic four-cylinder and V6 that can tow up to 6,500 pounds. Performance is average, and the upgraded V6 engine takes the truck from 0 to 60 in 7.8 seconds. The towing capacity is up to 6,500 pounds, which is good for a small truck.

  • The base engine is a 2.7L four-cylinder with 159 horsepower.
  • An upgraded 4.0L V6 is available and has 236 horsepower.

What Color Options are Available?

2013 Toyota Tacoma Review, Problems, Reliability, Value, Life Expectancy, MPG (3)

How Big is the Tacoma?

The 2013 Tacoma is a compact truck, and is smaller than full-size trucks, making it a good choice for shoppers looking for a nimble choice. There are three cabin configurations available including a two-door regular cab, a four-door access cab, and a larger four-door double cab. Passenger room is cramped in the back seats of all cabin configurations. Two bed lengths are also available including five-foot or six-foot options.

2013 Toyota Tacoma Review, Problems, Reliability, Value, Life Expectancy, MPG (4)

How Does the 2013 Toyota Tacoma Compare to Other Trucks?

The 2013 Toyota Tacoma ranks 2nd out of 3 compact pickup trucks based on owner reviews.

In the first place is the more affordable Honda Ridgeline. The Honda has more power with a standard V6 engine, and a larger cabin with additional room for passengers. The Toyota has better off-road performance, reliability, a higher towing capacity, and is a more stylish truck. Overall, the Ridgeline is a good on-road truck, but the Tacoma is a more capable all-around choice.

Another competitor is the Nissan Frontier, which has a lower starting price. Reliability, off-road capabilities, and performance are all better in the Toyota. Where the Nissan stands out is with a slightly more roomy cabin with more rear legroom. The Tacoma is a better choice since there are fewer complaints.

Ranks #2 Compact Pickup Trucks by Owners

1

2013 Honda Ridgeline

4.76

2

2013 Toyota Tacoma

4.64

3

2013 Nissan Frontier

4.42

(Video) How to Tell Which Toyotas Will Last Over 400,000 Miles

Final Verdict: Is the 2013 Toyota Tacoma a Good Truck?

Yes, the 2013 Toyota Tacoma is a good truck based on information from 191 verified owner reviews, and 17 government and automotive websites. Positives include a very long-lasting powertrain and good off-road performance in the 4WD models. The downsides are limited passenger room, and its missing safety technology found in other vehicles. Overall, if you want a small truck, the 2013 Tacoma is a fantastic choice, but prices are similar to newer models.

Owner Reviews

messageEdit Write a Review

Brent A on June 24, 2021

Great truck best little 4x4 ish they still made it.

I own a 2013 Tacoma single cab 4x4 reliability is great it had 70,000 miles and no problems. I wish gas mileage was a little better 17 miles a gallon highway the 4x4 works great plows through the mud with no problems. Only thing I do not like is my truck has hand crank windows Toyota kind of cheaped out on that.

Victor L on June 23, 2021

Strong, reliable, fast, and amazing for off road.

Drains more gas than I expected, very comfortable and safe, the Bluetooth should have been made easier to access, I live the trim color but it would have been better black. The top that cover the bed got damaged very easily need to be made more durable.

William M on June 19, 2021

Reliable, roomy, and great performance.

Truck has plenty of room inside and also the bed of the truck is useful to load anything. Truck also has great acceleration. Truck is very reliable over 170000 miles and very few repairs mainly maintenance oil change, air filter, oil filter, battery, and wiper blades.

Adrian C on June 7, 2021

Value retention and style reign.

Tacoma’s are wonderful. Not only do they hold their value quite well, they do so because they are reliable, fun to drive, look great, and can really work — just as hard as any other truck. This model of Tacoma has room for car seats, lots of storage for your gear or tools, and connects to just about any device you have in your pocket. A modern value!

Andrew H on May 31, 2021

My perfect Toyota Tacoma review.

It's a Toyota Tacoma so you cannot go wrong. It is reliable and have never had a problem with it. If I were to do it over I would get the off road version and I wish it was bigger. There isn't much room in the back seat for car seats or really people so it isn't the best family car. If it's just you or you and your partner it's perfect.

James K on May 14, 2021

Effective, efficient, dependable, family friendly, haul any load needed.

No issues at all, great vehicle. It makes me never want to own any other kind of truck. The gas mileage is awesome, I only fill up once a week on average, and the comfort is there as well. If I need to go off road it handles all of the bumps and curves perfectly. If I need to pick up speed quickly, there is no problem there either. Toyota Tacoma is the best truck I have owned.

Tony D on May 9, 2021

Great all around vehicle!

My Toyota Tacoma is a really great vehicle for camping, traveling, day to day needs and the landscaping work I do around the house. This is the first vehicle I have bought brand new off the lot and I am still very happy with my purchase 7 years later.

Justin C on April 30, 2021

Great for what it is. It is a small truck with a big heart.

Great for getting around town easily. Haven't had a single problem with it after 150 thousands miles. Can pull small trailers and weights. However, the negative is that it does have a small bed, and cannot pull a great deal of weight. For the money and dependability it was a good buy.

Marshall K on April 12, 2021

Tacoma’s are amazing, get one.

My truck is my baby! It is a great truck and very reliable. It needs new shocks and a new windshield but other than that it is in pretty good shape. It is taken us to California, Colorado a few times, and Texas. I have always wanted a Tacoma and now that I have one I’ll only buy tacoma’s.

Daniel L on April 10, 2021

Toyota Tacoma is the best truck you can buy.

I have only run into one significant problem, and that is the blower motor fan resistor for the ac and heat in the cabin. I have replaced the part because the original part shorted out. The new part has loose connections and is constantly turning off. I also had to replace the rear differential gasket seal between the axle and the wheel. I didn't have to replace it, but chose to because it was best for the truck. Other than that, I have never had a problem. It is super reliable and comfortable. It is never not started or had a serious issue. I love the truck.

Carter W on April 10, 2021

Toyota Tacoma: great car all around!

It's really good and rides smooth. No problems with the steering. I have got an extended cab but I'd prefer a crew cab so I can put my family members in the back for long trips. All around a really good car. I've had no problems with the gas or gas mileage and I like how it takes unleaded gas as opposed to premium.

Giselle T on April 2, 2021

Very comfort and secure in the street

Very comfort ams spacious. Is the best truck in efficiency. 4WD, secure, and very nice. I love my truck

Gene R on April 2, 2021

Great 2013 Toyota Tacoma!

I drive a 2013 toyota tacoma. The truck just runs and runs. I haven't had to do anything to it but basic maintenance. I would recommend a tacoma to anyone looking for mid size truck that is very reliable.

Fermin G on March 30, 2021

Fuel efficient, would definitely buy again!

My Tacoma although we're about 150k miles in, it still runs and looks great! I haul trailers full of landscaping equipment and it has not given me any issues yet! I have thought about trading in but I do not think I could let go of such an amazing truck 10/10 would recommend this is my fourth Tacoma and I do not plan on ever letting them go.

Brian B on March 27, 2021

It's easy to drive and fun to drive. Technology is nice.

I love that it's a pickup truck. I can carry things anywhere that I want. I love how easy it is to drive.

Kade B on March 26, 2021

The best truck in the world.

It is the best truck I have ever drove. I have no complaints about the truck. It drives very smooth and is very comfortable. Very easy to control and does not shake when you drive it. Would recommend for anyone especially if you are a truck guy or girl it is great.

(Video) 4 vs 6 cylinder V6 - Why a 4 Cylinder Car or Truck Engine is the Best Choice For Most People

Julian P on March 14, 2021

Forgot to add that it has really great crash test as well.

Has great gas mileage for truck but is a must to put in shell 91 v-power gas. Definitely should get all wheel drive or 4-wheel drive for this truck. Add on camper or a soft top one have the option to take it down to put more in the truck bed is a must. Upgrading the tires for off road on road is great if you will be going on and off the road. Even a double cab would be great as it can fit three more people or more inner storage is a plus as well.

Phil M on March 12, 2021

This vehicle is very dependable and low cost to maintain. It gets good fuel mileage for a truck.

I have the extended cab with the long bed. The truck has been great. I have 85k miles on it and have had no service issues. I have only performed regular maintenance. When the time comes to buy a new truck, this make and model will be high on my list.

Hayden C on March 8, 2021

Smooth, good mileage, stereo systems awesome.

I have had my vehicle for 6 years, still runs perfect and has never given me any problems. Good on gas and very safe. I would recommend the Toyota Tacoma to anyone who’s interested. One of my favorite things about my vehicle is how smooth it drives, also the great gas mileage.

Wanda B on March 7, 2021

Looks good with the cab on it.

My vehicle performs well. It is reliable and comfortable. It is at the year now that it is maintenance is starting to be costly especially if I get it done at Toyota. I keep the maintenance up on the vehicle because I have a lot of miles on the vehicle. I plan to keep the vehicle until 500,000 miles and I think it will happen.

Michelle A on March 6, 2021

Great gas mileage that can't be beat.

Make and model, body style good on gas, loading and using for recreational use.. Dislikes- suspension.

Jorge M on March 4, 2021

My Tacoma is not four wheel drive.

I like the versatility of it, the way i can drive efficiently and tow objects. The car drives smooth and is very reliable. I wish it had a sunroof and electrical outlets like the newer models, but that is not a big deal.

Will M on March 3, 2021

Still runs great after 120,000+ miles in only 2 years!

I purchased my 2013 Tacoma used a couple years ago, and everything I was told about Toyota's reliability has proven true. Not a single issue with the vehicle so far, even though for a year I regularly drove it 100+ miles daily for work. The infotainment system has always been quick to pair with my phone via Bluetooth, the under-seat storage has been helpful on multiple occasions, and the included adjustable bed tie-downs are great when moving furniture or other large payloads. Would definitely recommend!

Calvin C on February 27, 2021

It is very roomy and still useful as a truck. Good towing capacity. It handles excellently in extreme weather.

I love my truck. It is fun to drive and has never required any maintenance. I highly recommend it.

Tony P on February 24, 2021

2013 Toyota Tacoma trd sport.

Great car for all terrain and can be used as a family traveler because of the double cab and extended bed. Great gas efficiency and a reliable car as most Toyota’s tend to be. All around great car and would recommend. Haven't ran into much problems because I do keep up with basic maintenance such as oil change and brake pads.

Ali S on February 19, 2021

10/10 daily and off road vehicle.

Comfortable to be in with lots of space. Reliable. Have had no issue with it. It is our daily driver and we also take it for trips. Would suggest vehicle to anybody who is looking for a truck that can also be a daily. Easy to keep on maintenance. 10/10.

Edward B on February 16, 2021

Dependable as long as you take care of it with required maintenance.

Color spruce mica is wonderful. Bed is already plasticized. Camper shells are too expensive. Great for going camping.

James D on February 15, 2021

Useful mid-size truck with great utility.

Very reliable. Needs small amounts of maintenance. My truck is 7 years only and needs very little attention. Gas mileage is about 18 miles per gallon. There is only 50,000 miles on my Toyota Tacoma thus far and I have only had to take it to a qualified mechanic a handful of times. Each time resulted in minor fixes that were not costly.

Jacqueline R on February 14, 2021

Always check out the gas mileage before buying!

The Toyota Tacoma's are dependable trucks. The one thing that is not too good about them though is the gas mileage. I thought I would have gotten better gas mileage than I am getting and my brake fluid leaks pretty bad even after changing my brakes and having the lines looked at. Other than those two things it is a pretty good truck.

Ness E on February 8, 2021

It is reliable and will likely hold Its value.

Very reliable. Counting on it holding it is retail value. No maintenance problems, but I take care of it with regular oil changes etc. Definitely not luxury inside. Difficult to see out of we're the door frame is on the drivers side.

Jodi H on February 8, 2021

Tacoma's a fun, reliable and easy to drive truck.

Most fun vehicle I have ever owned. Very reliable. Good gas mileage for a truck. Lots of highway power. Easy to haul in. Also great driving vision. Expect it to last for years to come no problems as of yet. Not a lot of bells and whistles. . . But didn't want these. Does have Bluetooth.

Jen E on February 3, 2021

Great vehicle, drive well, good engine and drives like a truck.

Great truck no issue and still drive great with only 60000 miles on it. I would buy another one after this one. As long as you keep up on the maintenance of the vehicle it will runner for a very long time. I love my Toyota truck, gets me where I need to go.

Ernerald T on February 2, 2021

Great looking truck and awesome do it all car with nice rims.

(Video) 10 Engines That Won't Last 60,000 Miles (Because They Are Junk)

No problems other than fuel. It runs great. It is fun to go mudding in and it can hold my two children’s car seat, so it also doubles as the family car. It is better to get something small for hauling too. We haul 18 wheeler papers for my husband's business and he is able to do what he needs to do with that truck. It is also a very cool 4x4.

Silvia C on January 31, 2021

This car is for my work everyday and is my favorite car,

No, he not have problems is perfect for my, I like my car is my favorite. But I need one more for my family is big now,

Mike F on January 28, 2021

It is dependable and has not given us any problems.

My 2013 Toyota Tacoma is dependable and has not given us any problems.

Cathy M on January 26, 2021

Why I like my Tacoma truck.

I have a Toyota Tacoma and like the fact that I am able to haul things for myself and family. I also like how comfortable the ride is. Also other than oil changes I have not had any service issues with the Tacoma. The thing I really like is the Tacoma has a really high resale value.

Mary H on January 15, 2021

I love my Toyota Tacoma truck!

Absolutely no problems - get the regular maintenance required by the dealer. I often go to an appt early so I can sit in my truck and read - very comfortable. Love it. Put snazzy covers on my seats - everyone knows my vehicle - usually a good thing. Very comfortable on long trips.

Nic M on January 12, 2021

‘13 Tacoma a great vehicle.

So far no major issues. It is very comfortable has all the creature comforts I want. And the aftermarket has tons of options to customize the truck however I want. Plenty of power while still maintaining great fuel mileage highway and in town. Very smooth ride even when towing. Dry happy with the truck.

Blaise H on January 11, 2021

Toyota Tacoma pros and cons.

The Bluetooth does not connect very easily and the roof molding is flimsy often coming off in car washes. The underside is prone to rust but can be mitigated by rinsing regularly, especially if you live in an area where the roads are slated a lot during the winter months.

Charmagne Q on January 7, 2021

Nice truck for the size -very easy to drive and useful.

It's a good truck for its size. It's good on gas, and easy to drive. I wish the seats could be adjusted more.

Jarvis B on December 29, 2020

Gets the job done, just not in style.

Performs quite well. It is as reliable as can be. Easy maintenance. Easy to do work on it myself. I just wish that it had a sunroof and the seats were a bit wider. Would also like for the cab to be about 5 inches longer so the seats could go back further. I would also upgrade the stereo by about four speakers and add a subwoofer.

Mollie C on December 24, 2020

Nice, smooth sailing truck. Is a must buy!

My truck is very spacious. Drives are smooth sailing and engine is pretty quiet. Lights are very bright both high and low beam and you are able to see a good distance when driving at night. The music is very crisp when playing. Great gas saver and would recommend to everyone.

David M on December 22, 2020

Reliable truck. Handles the road well and gets good gas mileage.

My first Toyota. Has been very reliable for the years I have had it. Handles the road well and gets good gas mileage. Keep it serviced according to manual and has not given me any problems. Still have the original tires on it and it has never broken down on me. Keep the oil changed when due. Air filter too. It is been a reliable truck and would recommend it to others.

OSCAR O on December 14, 2020

1.23e+24.

When I go on the road for more than 1 hour above 120 km / h, it is time that the engine revolutions are lowered to zero but the vehicle does not turn off, it continues to run but it can no longer accelerate and is losing speed until it to completely stop the vehicle, I have to turn off the vehicle and turn it on again and I can continue to drive for another couple of kilometers and the same thing happens again and so on until I reach my destination.

Bob R on December 11, 2020

Work truck and 4x4 that can go off road and smooth travel along highways

4x4 truck that is small enough to go anywhere and easy to handle. No complaints

Ashley M on December 10, 2020

I love the easy transitioning from 2wd to 4wd.

Tacoma is very reliable, only issue I am having is the paint starting to chip in places, but no significant mechanical issues since owning it; I have noticed sometimes the vehicle will shake as if the tires are flattening, but this is usually a result of poor pavement or not so good tires. This vehicle loves to be spoiled, and will treat you right. I am the third owner of the 2013 Tacoma and would recommend its durability and performance to anyone.

d c on December 5, 2020

My Toyota Tacoma is a reliable and economical vehicle.

Does what I need it to do. Get good mileage. It is reliable

Jeff Boehne on December 1, 2020

Parts and fluid lines rotting

I finally purchase a Toyota Tacoma after wantng on for years. I heard such good things about them but as I write this review, my truck has just turned 70000 miles and I have been replacing parts for the last 2 years that have just rotted and deteriorated. Brake calipers freezing up had to be replaced, Brake drums had small chunks falling off them. Coolant lines to transmission rotted and leaked all over the place. The steering fluids tubing also rotted. About a month ago I had to replace the rack and pinion. Now the tube that comes off the power steering pump is rotted and pissing fuild. The splash pan in the front has rot holes through it. I have never even been off road with this truck. I am so disappointed as Iexpected to be able to keep this truck for a long time when I bought especially since I put so little miles on it. Will Toyota styand behind and reimburse me for any of this? I would like to know.

Paula C on November 22, 2020

2013 Toyota Tacoma. 5 speed/manual. 4 cyl.

I have had my Tacoma for 4.5 years and I love it. The only major problems I have had with it is this past summer my a/c motor went out and had to be replaced. The parts are affordable for the Tacoma. The body/frame has no signs of rust considering that Tacoma's are known to have issues with the frame rusting. I live in a state that has many trails that I frequently take my Tacoma on and it performs amazing off-road even with a smaller set of tires then came on it. I am about to put a bigger set on the Tacoma and I think it will perform even better off-road. The Tacoma does awesome in the snow. I have never had any problems getting anywhere I need to with my Tacoma. I do have a manual transmission and the truck is only a 4 cyl. But performs well on highways with high incline. The only downfall of the extend cab is the back seats are not very comfortable.

Linda S on November 17, 2020

Toyota make a quality truck

It is useful for day-to-day tasks. It fits into my garage. Many compact trucks do not. However, the ride is a little rough and the turning radius is larger than I like.

Alex Showalter

Alex is an automotive enthusiast with over 15 years of experience in the used car market. He brings a wealth of knowledge to Vehicle History as our Staff Writer and has written hundreds of used car reviews helping buyers make informed purchasing decisions. He is a member of the Automotive Press Association, and keeps up-to-date on the latest changes in the industry. Over the years, he has driven hundreds of cars, working on many of them. His mechanical experience evolved from modifying off-road trucks as a teen to focusing on automotive electrical systems as he got older. He now specializes in reviewing used cars as an automotive journalist. Some of his favorite brands are Toyota and BMW. The Toyota Land Cruiser is one of his favorite vehicles of all time since they’re built to last forever and can go anywhere. One of his current cars is a Lexus LX570, built on the same platform as the 200-series Land Cruiser, but it’s a better value in the used market.

(Video) Longest Lasting Pickup Trucks On The Road with Super High Mileage!!

    FAQs

    Is 2013 a good year for tacomas? ›

    Is the 2013 Toyota Tacoma a Good Used Truck? The 2013 Toyota Tacoma is a good used truck. It tows more than rival compact pickups can, and its seats are comfortable. The Tacoma has a reasonably smooth ride, and models equipped with available four-wheel drive have good off-road capabilities.

    What is the most reliable year of Tacoma? ›

    The best-rated Tacomas from the first generation include 2000, 2001, 2003, and 2004. But 2004 is rated lower in satisfaction ratings. , “2005, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, and 2015 all have perfect reliability verdict ratings.”

    Can a Toyota Tacoma last 300000 miles? ›

    Standard cars are known to last up to 200,000 miles, while a well-maintained Toyota Tacoma will last far past 300,000 miles. Some reports say that Toyota Tacomas have lasted over 400,000 miles.

    Is buying an old Tacoma worth it? ›

    The Tacoma has an excellent reputation as a trouble-free pickup with strong reliability ratings and resale value. They're also in high demand in the used truck market and can therefore fetch a higher premium.

    How many miles will a 2013 Toyota Tacoma last? ›

    Automotive research firm iSeeCars says the Tacoma can last up to 200,000 miles or more. With regular repairs and maintenance, any Toyota Tacoma can reach 300,000 miles with ease. If you drive 20,000 to 30,000 miles in a year, your Tacoma can last 10 to 15 years before needing major repairs.

    What year Tacoma has the least problems? ›

    Even though it takes you back more than 20 years to find the Tacoma versions with the fewest problems, the most reliable versions of this Toyota truck are found in the 1995-2004 model years. These trucks are highly reliable and have very few reported complaints.

    What years did Toyota Tacoma have frame issues? ›

    Toyota, in 2016, settled a class-action suit by agreeing to spend $3 billion to repair millions of Tacomas, Tundras, and Sequioa SUV's with rusting frames. Model years affected are from 2004 to 2008 (or 2010 in a few cases).

    Is Tacoma timing belt or chain? ›

    Newer models use timing belts made of polyurethane and Kevlar for long life and durability. They can go as long as 100,000 miles although it's always a good idea to change it before then.

    Are Toyota Tacoma transmissions reliable? ›

    Changing from park to reverse, for example, causes the truck to lunge forward. The Toyota Tacoma transmission problems, or more commonly known as the “Tacoma Lurch” has not gone unnoticed. According to Motorbiscuit “The Toyota Tacoma has one of the worst automatic transmissions out of any Toyota model.”

    What model Tacoma is best? ›

    Experts agree the best 2022 Toyota Tacoma trim is the TRD Off-Road model. However, there's an even more expensive, well-equipped off-road model at the top of the range of Tacomas, the TRD Pro.

    Do Tacoma trucks hold their value? ›

    Despite being six years older than the larger Tundra, the Toyota Tacoma holds its value better. After five years of ownership, the average Tacoma is projected to retain 63.5 percent of its initial purchase price.

    What is the longest lasting pickup truck? ›

    The Honda Ridgeline comes in at first place in the category of trucks most likely to last 200,000 miles.

    How long do Tacoma transmissions last? ›

    2016 and 2017 V6 Tacomas May See a Shorter Lifespan Owing to Transmission Issues. Most Tacomas will have no problem reaching 200,000 miles, and with proper maintenance, 300,000 is totally doable.

    Why is no one buying the Toyota Tacoma? ›

    Toyota pickup trucks are not having a great year. Toyota has not redesigned its Tacoma pickup in over seven years and sales of the aging midsize truck are slumping. The automaker did re-engineer its full-size Tundra truck for the 2022 model year, spurring a short sales boom.

    Should you buy a Tacoma new or used? ›

    Buying notes: The Toyota Tacoma midsize truck is known for its strong resale value, and there aren't many savings to be had on 1- to 2-year-old models. Even a 3-year-old model will have an average savings of less than $4,000. Buying a new Tacoma can maximize your Tacoma ownership experience.

    What is considered high mileage for a Toyota? ›

    Up to 1000 miles a month – or 12,000 miles per year – is seen as average car use, any more than that would be considered high mileage – a two-year-old car with 40,000 miles, say. That said, the term 'high mileage' is usually reserved for cars that have covered 100,000 miles or more.

    Are tacomas the most reliable truck? ›

    The first thing you will notice about Toyota Tacomas for sale is their reliability and how long they last. If well maintained, Tacomas are capable of lasting between 300,000 and 400,000 miles. Not only are Tacomas reliable, but they also provide a lot of value for the cost and are very affordable.

    How often should I change the oil in my 2013 Toyota Tacoma? ›

    Synthetic oil commonly should be changed every 7,500 - 10,000 miles. Toyota recommends getting your 2013 Toyota Tacoma oil & filter changed every 3,000-5,000 miles for conventional oil.

    How often do tacomas need oil changes? ›

    How often does a 2022 Toyota Tacoma need an Oil Change? An oil change is one of the most basic and essential services for your vehicle. Synthetic oil normally should be changed every 7,500 - 10,000 miles. Toyota advises getting your 2022 Toyota Tacoma oil & filter changed every 3,000-5,000 miles for conventional oil.

    What year Tacoma has frame recall? ›

    Key Points. Toyota Tacomas from 2005 to 2010 were recalled for excessive rust and rot impacting the structural integrity of the frame, and airbags that may not deploy.

    Is Tacoma the longest lasting truck? ›

    However, it might have been dethroned by an unlikely competitor. , the Toyota Tacoma is not the longest-lasting midsize truck on the market. Instead, it falls in 3rd place. This is already surprising, but what's even more surprising is that the truck that just beat it is the Honda Ridgeline.

    Are used Tacomas worth the money? ›

    Generally, it's a great decision to buy a used Toyota Tacoma. If you can find a Tacoma for the right price, you can trust it as a dependable, long-lasting option. The Tacoma also holds its value pretty well, depending on vehicle history.

    What years did Toyota recall frames? ›

    The company had to recall thousands of Toyota Tundra models of 2000-2003 sold in the US because of frame rust. Toyota Tundra was the second full-size pickup truck built by a Japanese manufacturer and the first full-size pickup to be built in North America from a Japanese manufacturer.

    Do Tacomas have problems? ›

    While it's been an excellent seller for all these years, the Tacoma hasn't been without problems. The 2022 model is no exception. Issues range from nonfunctional airbags and faulty brakes issues, to vehicles rolling backwards and incorrectly welded child seats.

    Is the Tacoma built on a truck frame? ›

    The Toyota Tacoma has a body-on-frame construction, giving it more conventional truck dynamics and overall architecture.

    How much does it cost to replace a timing chain on a Toyota Tacoma? ›

    The average cost for Toyota Tacoma Timing Chain Replacement is $1904.

    When should a drive belt be replaced on a Toyota Tacoma? ›

    Typically, belt manufacturers recommend belt replacement at 90,000 miles. However, the belt must be inspected for wear or damage at regular intervals prior to this high mileage. Squealing noise, belt slippage, visible belt damage.

    How long does a serpentine belt last Toyota Tacoma? ›

    Of the parts that will eventually need to be replaced in your vehicle, the serpentine belt is one of the most important. How long does a serpentine belt last? Being made of durable rubber, a serpentine belt can last anywhere from around 50,000-100,000 miles.

    Are Tacomas expensive to repair? ›

    The Toyota Tacoma is a well-kept secret, and inexpensive to maintain.

    How long do Toyota transmissions last? ›

    Generally speaking, transmission fluid replacement and inspection intervals can range anywhere between 15,000 and 100,000 miles. Toyota recommends that vehicles featuring an automatic transmission have their fluid changed every 60,000 to 100,000 miles.

    Are 4x4 Tacomas reliable? ›

    Shop the 2021 Toyota Tacoma near you

    Despite its age, the Tacoma is not without appeal. It remains a reliable and capable choice, with solid towing capability and strong resale value. It also has solid off-road cred.

    What is better TRD or SR5? ›

    However, the Tacoma SR5 actually has a higher payload limit of 1,685 pounds, compared to a payload limit of 1,525 pounds in the Tacoma TRD Sport. No matter which is right for the job, you can benefit from the following towing features: The class-IV towing hitch receiver. ATF cooler (not available on manual transmission ...

    Which Tacoma is best on gas? ›

    What Are the Toyota Tacoma MPG Ratings Per Trim Level?
    • Toyota Tacoma SR: 18 MPG city/22 MPG highway*
    • Toyota Tacoma SR5: 20 MPG city/23 MPG highway*
    • Toyota Tacoma TRD Sport: 19 MPG city/24 MPG highway*
    • Toyota Tacoma TRD Off-Road: 19 MPG city/24 MPG highway*
    • Toyota Tacoma Limited: 19 MPG city/24 MPG highway*
    23 Jun 2022

    What does TRD mean? ›

    TRD means Toyota Racing Development, serving as an in-house tuning shop for Toyota. Its main responsibility is to develop performance parts and accessories for Toyota vehicles worldwide. These parts include uprated suspension components, along with superchargers and special wheels.

    Why do people love Toyota Tacoma? ›

    The Toyota Tacoma is renowned literally around the world for being the benchmark of quality and toughness. These trucks are used in even the most desolate of places on the earth, where they're used to transport everything from farm goods and mining gear to soldiers and supplies.

    How much will my Tacoma be worth in 5 years? ›

    A Toyota Tacoma will depreciate 33% after 5 years and have a 5 year resale value of $28,011. The chart below shows the expected depreciation for the next 10 years.

    Is it smart to buy a Toyota Tacoma? ›

    The 2022 Toyota Tacoma is a great choice for anyone looking to get a new midsize truck. It should also be a top pick for those who want an off-road, recreational vehicle.

    What trucks will last 300000 miles? ›

    The Chevy Silverado 1500 is a reliable truck in the 2012, 2015, and 2018 model years. When handled with care, the Silverado can last 300,000 miles and beyond. Some owners use their trucks for up to 20 years. Regular maintenance is key, or your Silverado may not make it past 150,000 miles.

    What truck breaks down most? ›

    • Chevrolet Silverado. There have been many ups and downs for Silverado, and a long span of nine problematic model years doesn't have to mean all of them are bad. ...
    • Ford F-150. The Ford F-150 continues to be America's best-selling truck. ...
    • Ram 1500. ...
    • Toyota Tundra. ...
    • Honda Ridgeline. ...
    • Nissan Titan. ...
    • Chevrolet Colorado. ...
    • Nissan Frontier.

    What pickup truck has the least problems? ›

    • These Reliable Trucks Will Last for the Long Haul. Pickup trucks have grown from utilitarian work vehicles into many owners' primary transportation. ...
    • 2022 Ford F-150. ...
    • 2022 Honda Ridgeline. ...
    • 2022 GMC Canyon. ...
    • 2022 Toyota Tacoma. ...
    • 2022 Chevrolet Colorado. ...
    • 2022 Chevrolet Silverado 1500. ...
    • 2022 GMC Sierra 1500.
    31 Aug 2022

    At what mileage do transmissions fail? ›

    Transmission Mileage

    Automatic transmissions often fail between 80,000 and 150,000 miles. Manual transmissions can fail even sooner than that, especially when routine maintenance is neglected.

    What year is best for Tacoma? ›

    The best-rated Tacomas from the first generation include 2000, 2001, 2003, and 2004. But 2004 is rated lower in satisfaction ratings. , “2005, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, and 2015 all have perfect reliability verdict ratings.”

    Is a Toyota Tacoma a good daily driver? ›

    This is an excellent vehicle for daily driving if you plan to purchase a truck for the first time, but even dedicated truck owners love the Toyota Tacoma for its ruggedness and durability in virtually any driving conditions.

    Which Toyota has the best mpg? ›

    The Toyota cars with the best gas mileage are the 2022 Corolla and Camry, both available as gas or hybrid models. If you would prefer an SUV, check out the 2022 RAV4 or the first-ever Corolla Cross.

    What year Tacoma has frame issues? ›

    Toyota, in 2016, settled a class-action suit by agreeing to spend $3 billion to repair millions of Tacomas, Tundras, and Sequioa SUV's with rusting frames. Model years affected are from 2004 to 2008 (or 2010 in a few cases). This follows an earlier extended warranty affecting Toyota trucks from 1995-2003.

    What Gen is a 2013 Toyota Tacoma? ›

    The first-generation Tacoma (model years 1995 through 2004) was classified as a compact pickup. The second generation (model years 2005 through 2015) as well as the third generation (in production since 2015) are classified as mid-sized pickups.

    What year Tacomas have frame issues? ›

    Tacomas from 2005 to 2010 Toyota received a number of complaints from drivers who reported their frames had severe rust, rot, and corrosion. Some owners reported their trucks would not pass inspection due to extensive frame damage from rust eating holes into the frame, and extending to other components.

    What model Toyota Tacoma is the best? ›

    Experts agree the best 2022 Toyota Tacoma trim is the TRD Off-Road model. However, there's an even more expensive, well-equipped off-road model at the top of the range of Tacomas, the TRD Pro.

    Are Tacomas the most reliable truck? ›

    The first thing you will notice about Toyota Tacomas for sale is their reliability and how long they last. If well maintained, Tacomas are capable of lasting between 300,000 and 400,000 miles. Not only are Tacomas reliable, but they also provide a lot of value for the cost and are very affordable.

    What year Toyota trucks had a frame recall? ›

    The company had to recall thousands of Toyota Tundra models of 2000-2003 sold in the US because of frame rust. Toyota Tundra was the second full-size pickup truck built by a Japanese manufacturer and the first full-size pickup to be built in North America from a Japanese manufacturer.

    Will Toyota replace a rusted frame? ›

    If the inspection shows that your Subject Vehicle's frame should be replaced, an authorized Toyota Dealer will replace the frame, at no cost to you.

    Do Toyota Tacomas get good gas mileage? ›

    Whether you need a vehicle that can keep you working all day or you just want to take on the off-road trails for hours on end, the Toyota Tacoma has the fuel efficiency you need. This truck is engineered to be lightweight and efficient, achieving an EPA-estimated 20 city/23 highway MPG.

    What is the difference between a Tacoma and a Tacoma TRD? ›

    The base SR trim level pulls 159 horsepower from its 2.7-liter, four-cylinder engine. This is paired with a six-speed auto transmission. The TRD Sport, on the other hand, draws 278 horsepower from its 3.5-liter V6 engine. It has the same transmission and is also equipped with a sport suspension system.

    What kind of oil does a 2013 Toyota Tacoma take? ›

    5W-30 (All TEMPS) - 5W-30 is the best choice for good fuel economy and starting in cold weather. If 5W-30 is not available 10W-30 may be used. However, it must be replaced with 5W-30 at the next oil change.

    How long will Tacoma frame last? ›

    Expect Your Tacoma to Run a Minimum of 200,000 Miles with Adequate Care, or 300,000 with Excellent Care. A recent survey found the Tacoma to be the third longest-lasting truck overall, ranking behind only the Toyota Tundra, in first, and the Honda Ridgeline.

    Do Tacomas still have rust problems? ›

    There are a few used Toyota Tacoma model years to avoid if you don't want your truck to rust. Rust slowly forms on a vehicle and then eats it away. But some trucks, like these Toyota Tacomas, are more susceptible to rust than others.

    Videos

    1. How Long Does Toyota Hybrid Battery Last? Ask the Expert!
    (Fred Anderson Toyota)
    2. Buying a Used Toyota RAV4? | 5 Tips to Uncover Reliability Problems
    (Justin Pritchard)
    3. First 100,000 miles 2015 Ford Mustang GT| Is It Reliable? Does it still work?
    (BaffourHD)
    4. Toyota's Reliability Secrets REVEALED
    (Donut Media)
    5. A Big Problem with Audi's
    (Driven Companion)
    6. SUVs That Can Last Over 200,000 Miles OR Even More
    (the SUV geek)

    Top Articles

    You might also like

    Latest Posts

    Article information

    Author: Kimberely Baumbach CPA

    Last Updated: 11/14/2022

    Views: 6730

    Rating: 4 / 5 (61 voted)

    Reviews: 84% of readers found this page helpful

    Author information

    Name: Kimberely Baumbach CPA

    Birthday: 1996-01-14

    Address: 8381 Boyce Course, Imeldachester, ND 74681

    Phone: +3571286597580

    Job: Product Banking Analyst

    Hobby: Cosplaying, Inline skating, Amateur radio, Baton twirling, Mountaineering, Flying, Archery

    Introduction: My name is Kimberely Baumbach CPA, I am a gorgeous, bright, charming, encouraging, zealous, lively, good person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.